top of page

About Us


In 2007, ABC Community School Partnership was created as a Joint Powers Agreement between Albuquerque Public Schools, the City of Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, and United Way of Central New Mexico. Since its creation, the JPA has expanded to include the Albuquerque Hispano Chamber of Commerce, the University of New Mexico, the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions, and the Albuquerque Teachers Federation in 2023.

The W.K. Kellogg Foundation awarded ABC $250,000 in 2010 for a project known as "Success by 8," in which ABC developed a plan for implementing the community school strategy with a focus on early childhood education. ABC distributed grants to four schools in different regions of the Albuquerque area to begin organizing for needs and assets around early childhood - these schools were Helen Cordero Primary School, La Mesa Elementary School, Manzano Mesa Elementary School, and Pajarito Elementary School.

Since the first four community schools in 2010, ABC's network of community schools has grown exponentially to include a total of 77 schools in 2023. Of that total, 61 are traditional public schools and 16 are charter schools.

Growth of ABC Community Schools, 2010 to 2023

ABC Network Growth Over Time.png

Mission & Vision


The ABC Community School Partnership promotes the holistic well-being and success of students, families, and community members by developing community schools, aligning resources, transforming systems, and facilitating community self-determination. ABC acts upon the strategic direction of the ABC Board of Directors and in partnership with local, state, and community organizations.

We envision neighborhoods with community schools at the center, supported by systems that are equitable, aligned, and driven by a community-determined vision of holistic success for students, families, and communities.

Who We Are

Get to know the ABC staff.

bottom of page